Hi I am a Muslim and I Would Like To Apologize For ….

A Bengali in Toronto posted this gem of a piece at his blog not too long ago. Be sure to click on the links to see what he means.

Hi, I am a Muslim.

And today, I would like to apologize for:

[x] Killing a female relative for committing a sin

[x] Punishing a rape victim

[x] Rioting over perceived insults to the Prophet

[x] Blowing up buildings to make a political point

[x] Calling for ban on offensive books, ideas and symbols

[x] Believing that my holy book gives me the right to beat my wife

[x] Clerics treating women and children as ‘uncovered meat’

Thank you.

6 Responses to “Hi I am a Muslim and I Would Like To Apologize For ….”


  1. 1 Yeni Inayah December 28, 2007 at 2:51 pm

    Accepted, She will get asylum and citizenship from the west. And a fellowship from a university.

  2. 2 Baekho December 30, 2007 at 5:37 am

    I have mixed feeling about her “apology”. She obviously has good intentions in making it, but really, it’s not her fault. Yes, she’s Muslim, but why should she have to apologize for the actions of a few fanatics? It’s not like it’s her fault, and obviously that isn’t the Islam she supports and identifies with.

    I guess I just don’t care for the fact that many Muslims are forced to be constantly on the defensive.

  3. 3 Amina Ae Sook December 30, 2007 at 7:03 pm

    Yeni Inayah and Baekho, The blog post is meant to be ironic because if you click on the links you will see that they actually point to people of other religions doing these acts which are sometimes done by some Muslims but all the Muslims get blamed for those.

  4. 4 Baekho December 31, 2007 at 12:10 am

    Oops….heh heh….duh, I probably should have done that before opening my mouth. 😛

  5. 5 Amina Ae Sook December 31, 2007 at 4:47 am

    Baekho, No probs. All of us make mistakes. No one is perfect. 🙂

  6. 6 faisalk January 4, 2008 at 9:20 am

    Being a muslim comes with the baggage of a few centuries of discord and stress. Welcome to the fold, get in line for the hereafter.


Leave a Reply

