K-pop guide to Muslims

1002-20jj.jpg
(Image: Korean Pop Singer JJ)

Muslims are presented in the West in a rather one dimensional manner and to make matters worse some interpretations of Islam mainly originating from KSA also wants to paint Islam in a one dimensional manner but there is far from the truth and reality of Islam. In the mainstream media and even outside of the mainstream media Islam and Muslims are usually presented in a rather boring manner which paints the picture that Muslims are robots who just follow certain rules. Thus we have such absurdist pronouncements by the media like do Muslims have a sense of humor? This is such a stupid question that the stupidometer should go off the charts while measuring its stupidity, it implies that there are a billion people in the world who do not have a sense of humor. Its as if Islam is something genetic which renders people immune to jokes instead of it being a belief system. Now you may wonder, what is the link between Muslims and K-pop? K-pop refers to Korean popular music. It is also something which is not quite unknown in America. So I thought I may combine two of my interests – Muslims and K-pop. Some may find it strange, some may find it absurd, but this is my take on the Muslim world, the people, a guide through Korean pop. Hopefully it won’t be boring. And to my Muslim brothers reading this post, I ‘ll say “Lower your gaze.” 🙂

So anyway watch out for this space in the future — K-pop guide to Muslims. Don’t be too alarmed by the images, I like to remix stuff. :p

7 Responses to “K-pop guide to Muslims”


  1. 1 kimiam January 3, 2008 at 5:23 pm

    I look forward to a refreshing new view.

  2. 2 krishna.n.c January 4, 2008 at 12:14 pm

    Dear Amina,
    hey i loved your take on the muslim world!! its a whole new and fresh perspective, keep up the spirit:))
    I wish you a very happy and a blessed new year:)
    love and hugs for the cool LOL cat!!

  3. 3 Amina Ae Sook January 4, 2008 at 3:54 pm

    kimiam, welcome to the blog.

    krishna, well thanks! I ‘ll try to do my best, insha’Allah

  4. 4 Baekho January 6, 2008 at 7:56 am

    I totally feel for you about the one-dimensional presentation of “Islam” and “Muslims” in the Western media (and I’m not even Muslim myself!). There’s a great article by Edward Said (one of my intellectual heroes) entitled “Impossible Histories: Why the Many Islams Cannot Be Simplified.” Unfortunately it’s not available online (not in its entirety), but if you come across it I highly recommend it. Actually, I recommend just about anything by Said. 😀

    I’m looking forward to your “K-Pop & Muslims” entries—-that should make for a very interesting remix!

    The part about “lower your gaze” is hilarious but well placed, since those two women are gorgeous. 😉

  5. 5 Amina Ae Sook January 9, 2008 at 5:03 am

    Baekho, Edward Said check. 🙂 Your observation is correct and to it I will add that its not just Islam which is simplified but also the “West” is also simplified many times in Muslim discourse.

    By the way the part about “lower your gaze” is a religious ruling in which Muslim men are basically told to “lower their gazes” when they see hot women. 😉

  6. 6 saad January 18, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    Really interesting site, looking forward to more of your posts, where are you from, thanks for adding me on your blogroll, Inshallah we can make a difference through our blogs…

    http://www.chillyoislamyo.com

  7. 7 Amina Ae Sook January 27, 2008 at 9:58 am

    Thanks Saad. insha’Allah I we will make a difference. The world is in hope.

    p.s: I am from the US. 🙂


Leave a Reply

