The Adventures of Umm lol cats: Episode I: The Phantom Mullah

Umm lol cats may not be a super hero (or super heroine) but she can have less than a dull life and so I present to you “The Adventures of Umm lol cats.” A few words of caution. The object of the current episode is not to mock everyone in KSA but rather only certain people. You may say that we should not mock anyone. Well yes and no. After you see people breaking apart successful Muslim communities here in America because some Saudi educated guy comes along and thinks that indigenous American Muslims ought to live like the Saudis well enough is enough. Also I am not trying to mock the Middle Eastern Accent but such people usually do have that accent. For people who do not know the terminology, hijab is usually referred to as the hear covering worn by Muslim women, Najd is a region in Saudi Arabia and Mullah roughly means a religious leader. The sad thing is that I have seen people who do think that the real scholar of Islam are in Najd and that most other institutions in the Islamic world are whack. Some background of today’s episode: In KSA, there are some indications that the ban of women driving may be lifted soon. Anyway I hope that people like “The Adventures of Umm lol cats” and if enough people like it I may even make it a regular section of the site.

Click on individual images for a larger view.

episode1a.jpg

episode1b.jpg

episode1c.jpg

P.S: Just joined the Facebook under this alias. Ping me.

25 Responses to “The Adventures of Umm lol cats: Episode I: The Phantom Mullah”


  1. 1 Aafke January 29, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    LOL!
    I thought as everybody can read the Q’uran, everybody can learn for themselves about Islam? This is what irritates me so much about the christian church: you can read the bible but the interpretation of the priest/vicar is the one you should follow. This is to make sure the church-leaders stay in power.

    Anybody who can’t stand a bit of humour is not to be trusted!
    Keep up the adventures of Umm lol cats! Superhero of logic!

  2. 2 Lofter January 29, 2008 at 11:38 pm

    I totally love the way you can use humor (and obvious talent) to make your point! LOL! And I agree with Aafke’s comment above. Well done! 😀

  3. 3 dontbesadblog February 1, 2008 at 8:31 pm

    Peace be upon you Amina Ae Sook,

    I noticed your cartoon and thought you might find the following seriis of cartoons of interest:

    http://www.islamicnetwork.com/index.php/comics/category/C63/P0/

    The series is called Naseeha man. The author of the cartoons passed away sometime ago so they won’t be updated.

    I’m currently away from Dont be sad until mid-February.

    Regards,

    Dont be sad

  4. 5 Tia February 2, 2008 at 12:12 am

    lol – this had me laughing out loud.

  5. 7 benevolence85 February 2, 2008 at 9:28 pm

    LOL , regarding Najd , somoene once said their is a hadeeth that speaks badly of that place in saudi . One is made to feel that saudi is the ONLY place in the world that has the correct in opinion , which is NOT true , we all know their laws and fatwas are influenced by their backward culture .

  6. 8 stinger February 3, 2008 at 4:08 pm

    LOL! I liked this. 😛

  7. 9 Aafke February 3, 2008 at 5:43 pm

    Naseeha man : more LOL!

  8. 10 Amina Ae Sook February 3, 2008 at 9:18 pm

    I am glad everyone liked it. I think I will continue this. Be sure to be back for more.

  9. 12 Lofter February 4, 2008 at 4:05 am

    Hmmmm… consider the first installment was “The Phantom Mullah,” would the next one be “Return of the Jihad”?

  10. 13 Tasmaniac February 5, 2008 at 6:08 am

    Hi Amina,
    I don’t know much about the Muslim religion & traditions. I think they are very misunderstood people because of what has happened with terrorist extremists, But you can’t blame that on normal everyday Muslim people. I know many do though & that is a very wrong attitude.
    Love your cartoon, very funny 🙂

  11. 14 Amina Ae Sook February 5, 2008 at 5:02 pm

    Aafke, That is correct. In theory there is no hierarachy in Islam but unfortunatley some people behave as if there is one. And BTW that would be superheroine not superhero.

    Lofter, thanks you

    dontbesadblog, Thank you for the link to Naseeha man. Some of the comic are quite funny. Shall be waiting for your return.

    Tia, I am glad that I made you laugh.

    Sumera, stinger, bubbles, good.

    Tasmaniac, Hi. You are correct there is a lot of misunderstanding out there. Thus there is a need to clear some of this misconception both inside and outside the Muslim community.

  12. 15 Aafke February 5, 2008 at 5:16 pm

    Ok, ok, superhero-ine. note that I’m not the superhero-ine of spelling!
    More the superbadgirrrl.

    I think your humorous outlook will do a lot of good!
    I loved the post on wether mermaids are Halal!

  13. 16 Amina Ae Sook February 5, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    Aafke, What? Now you are a woman. I thought you were a man! More conspiracy stuff coming out now. In any case I am glad that you liked the posts regardless of your gender. 🙂

  14. 17 Aafke February 5, 2008 at 10:27 pm

    Arrghhh, Why does everybody think that I am a man? I’m the ultimate in femeninity!
    Or are you trying to get me upset?
    Haven’t read my blog have you? 😡

  15. 18 Amina Ae Sook February 6, 2008 at 12:21 am

    Everybody? I can see a pattern here. I guess people usually don’t associate swords with women. 🙂
    Ok I will now back read all the posts. Happy now?

  16. 21 Tasmaniac February 7, 2008 at 7:58 pm

    “Shock, horror, surprise”
    A woman???
    I thought she was a man too!!!!!

    Only Joking…. 🙂

  17. 23 Baekho February 8, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    Looks like I forgot to comment here—I thought this was hilarious, and I really like the Arabic accent on words like “beoble” 😀

  18. 24 sascha February 11, 2008 at 7:10 pm

    Oh Hai! Cats, the internet, and tactical communities. Joshua Green in receiver magazine, Fall 2007

    See more under: http://www.receiver.vodafone.com/19-oh-hai

  19. 25 Amina Ae Sook February 12, 2008 at 1:44 am

    Baehko, thanks you. 🙂


Leave a Reply

