Book Meme

And so it has happened. I have been tagged by Baekho. Without wasting much time on explanations here’s the meme:

1. Pick up the nearest book (of at least 123 pages)

2. Open the book to page 123.

3. Find the fifth sentence.

4. Post the next three sentences.

5. Tag five people.

The closest book to me is not about Hello Kitty just in case you people are wondering. It’s Edward Said’s Culture and Imperialism. Here are the sentences:

My reaction to this is one of disgust and humiliation! I always remember with joy my early days when, with almost no friends, without anyone to talk to me, without preparations, without influence of any kind, I went before the publuc with my operas, ready to be blasted and quite happy if I could succeed in stirring up some favorable impression. Now what pomposity for an opera!!!

And the five people that I would like to tag are.

  1. Aafke
  2. Lofter
  3. Kimiam
  4. Cafe Philos
  5. Stinger
9 Responses to “Book Meme”


  1. 1 Aafke February 7, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    you have tagged me? what do I do? the same book-thingy?

  2. 2 Lofter February 8, 2008 at 1:20 am

    OK… you’ll find my response on my blog!

  3. 3 Amina Ae Sook February 8, 2008 at 5:13 am

    Aafe, you have to do the same thing.

  4. 4 Paul February 8, 2008 at 8:46 am

    This should be interesting! Thanks for the tag!

  5. 5 Tasmaniac February 8, 2008 at 4:05 pm

    Lofter tagged me & I was gunna tag you Amina but you already got it I see. I don’t know many bloggers. Will have to go with recent comments who haven’t already got it.

  6. 6 stinger February 8, 2008 at 4:36 pm

    Done the book meme. 🙂

  7. 9 Baekho February 12, 2008 at 5:18 pm

    I haven’t read Culture and Imperialism (I know, I know….shameful for a Said fan such as myself), but it’s on my “to read” list. What’s the context of that quote? Is that Said himself who’s talking?


Leave a Reply

