Korean Celebs, American Celebs ….

Is it just me or many Korean celebs like to dress exactly like their American counterparts? And I do mean exactly. You can see examples of these this phenomenon at Popseoul, here, here, here, here and so on and so fourth. I don’t know what to make of it. Is it just coincidence or they are actually copying their style? I don’t want to get all too philosophical with the pop industry but what does this phenomenon imply?

20080124pb-angelinahy2-small.jpg

20080121pb-evahoney1.jpg

20080117pb-kimokbinvsanderson.jpg

popbest-mischa-ksy-small.jpg

7 Responses to “Korean Celebs, American Celebs ….”


  1. 1 Shahrzad February 25, 2008 at 10:57 am

    Interesting how they like to be similar to american. It’s what american gov tries to do. Enforcing american culture to the world..

  2. 2 Aafke February 25, 2008 at 7:29 pm

    I must admit, I see some slight resemblances…
    I don’t think it’s a conspiracy though, 😉
    rather a mistake.

    I don’t see why one should want to mimic American celebs. Those dresses aren’t that good, (actually some are véry ugly) and I think they are always too naked.

    But then who knows? Perheaps those aren’t personal choices. and they have agents or something that want them to wear those clothes?

  3. 3 Amina Ae Sook February 26, 2008 at 5:40 am

    Shahrzad, In this case I don’t think that they are enforcing it but I think that its just plain weird that Korean celebrities follow American celebrities. I mean shouldn’t these people have their own style?

    Aafke, Its irritating because the resemblance is more than slight! You do have valid points regarding why they may want to dress like that. Its always good to get an outside opinion regarding stuff like this.

    I wasn’t implying a celebrity but I suppose just leave it to Aafke to discover a conspiracy when others can’t find a conspiracy. :p

  4. 5 Aliyah February 29, 2008 at 11:13 am

    I’ve come to the conclusion that there is little originality left these days. What is this, ‘One World Fashion’ now? What a shame. I guess this is the result of mega fashion conglomerates like Gucci, Dolce Gabbana, Louis Vuitton etc etc, herding everyone to dress the same way. However, when stars do dress uniquely, often they are put on the worst dressed lists, so why not stick with what works (on somebody else), eh?

    Or maybe Aafke is right – CONSPIRACY!!! haha

  5. 6 Amina Ae Sook March 1, 2008 at 5:52 pm

    Sumera, thank you!

    Aliyah, About the worst dressed thing, yeah you may be right. I never thought about it like that. Good point. Pretty soon everyone will look like everyone else. :\

    P.S: I starting to believe you Aafke

  6. 7 Aafke March 1, 2008 at 10:06 pm

    I wrote: ”I don’t think it’s a conspiracy though”
    Let’s focus on the word ”don’t” which is an English ”negative” that means that in this single case I DID NOT think it a conspiracy (!) but just really stupid and boring. 🙂
    I wish you wouldn’t all think I was thinking of conspiracies all the time!
    I’ll never use the C-word again!

    And if you want to copy somebody, you should at least choose somebody with good dress-sense!

    I never care anything about fashions, I make most of my clothes myself. I’m very happy the last couple of years for the really nice materials that are about: all with embroidery and spangles, and lace and lots of black. In the nineties fabrics were só boring!

    We shouldn’t be too obsessed with fashion, the whole fashion-thing is a conspiracy!!!


Leave a comment




Blog Stats

  • 85,074 hits
February 2008
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829