Prophet Muhammad (pbuh) and the Cats

Prophet Mohammed advised the people to treat their cats (pets) as a member of their family, and by this he meant to take a good care of them. Not only by words, but also with his actions he was a very good role model. For example: “the stories of Muezza, the Prophet Muhammad’s favourite cat: The most famous story about Muezza recounts how the call to prayer was given, and as Prophet Mohammed went to put on one of his robes, he found his cat sleeping on one of the sleeves. Rather than disturbing the cat, he cut off the sleeve and let him sleep. When he returned, Muezza awoke and bowed down to Prophet Muhammad and in return he stroked him three times. It is also believed that when Prophet Muhammad gave sermons within his household he would often hold Muezza in his lap”.

19 Responses to “Prophet Muhammad (pbuh) and the Cats”


  1. 1 dontbesadblog March 1, 2008 at 6:55 pm

    Peace be upon you Amina Ae Sook,

    Thank you for sharing this worthwhile story.

    I was familiar with this before, but to reminder of it was beautiful- how far we has strayed from such a example…and how much is it needed for us to go back.

    The link you have included is curious- but I would like to add Istanbul is famed for its cats, too– they are everywhere.

    http://ghazali.blogster.com/twelfth_letter_kittens

    Perhaps in future posts you might consider the story behind the nick name Abu Hurairah.

    Kind regards,

    Dont be sad

  2. 2 Baekho March 2, 2008 at 12:51 am

    I hadn’t heard this before, but I really like the thought of Prophet Muhammad (ļ·ŗ) delivering sermons while stroking his favorite cat šŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing this!

  3. 3 Broken Mystic March 2, 2008 at 2:04 am

    I especially Love this story very much. So beautiful, sobhan’Allah.

  4. 4 darvish March 2, 2008 at 1:57 pm

    I love this old and no doubt true story of the blessed Prophet (pbuh), the kindest of men. Here is another cat story for you from an old post on the Darvish blog šŸ™‚

    http://darvish.wordpress.com/?s=shibli+and+the+cat

    Ya Haqq!

  5. 5 Aafke March 2, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    I love this story šŸ™‚
    I also love the story of Darvish.
    So if I’m angry with my cat and lock him up in the kitchen but try to make up by extra cuddles I’m still allright?

  6. 6 Sumera March 2, 2008 at 3:08 pm

    Lovely. I love narrations of incidents like these.

  7. 7 Lofter March 2, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    I have no cat, but I’m looking for one! And, most of the shirts I wear around the loft are sleeveless – even better! šŸ˜€

  8. 8 Shahrzad March 2, 2008 at 10:26 pm

    I really didnt know that prophet had a cat. Interesting and beautiful story. Sometimes Blogland is good place for wandering through it. šŸ™‚

  9. 9 Amina Ae Sook March 4, 2008 at 5:06 am

    dontbesad, Peace be upon you also. O wow, that is cool. Thanks for the link, insha’Allah I will do a post on Abu Hurairah one day.

    Baekho, Yes indeed. The prophet (pbuh) was a really nice and kind person. Its a pity that we do not discuss his kindness that much.

    Broken Mystic, Yes it is quite beautiful.

    Darvish, Wow, I just read your post. That’s amazing. Thanks for sharing. Jazaks

    Aafke, Well that’s borderline but since I like you I will give you another chance.

    Sumera, šŸ™‚

    Lofter, That’s perfect. Welcome to the cat lovers club.

    Shahrzad, Yes even sometimes I am surprised why such narrations are not well known.

  10. 10 bubblie March 4, 2008 at 11:33 am

    Hey, in case ure interested. I’ve moved my blog.

  11. 11 Tasmaniac March 5, 2008 at 12:10 pm

    I don’t love cats, I like them but don’t go as far as love. I am a Poodle person, which is like having a !/2 cat !/2 dog creature around the home. She hogs the mat in front of the fire in winter like a cat & my wife calls her Poodle Puss.

  12. 12 BM March 6, 2008 at 9:30 am

    That was beautiful Amina, thanks. Love that name “Muezza”.

    The Sahabi Abu Hurayra (ra) loved cats, ‘Abu Hurayra’ is a nickname given to him, literally means ‘father of cats’. He was known to keep cats in the sleeves of his cloak!

  13. 13 Edward March 14, 2008 at 3:38 pm

    On a trip to istanbul last fall, I was amazed to see how well the stray cats seem to be treated — every one I saw looked plump and had a shiny coat, and I frequently saw people setting out food and water on the street for them. My friends there told me this story about Mohammed by way of explanation.
    Here’s a short video of two robust kittens I saw living outside a mosque:

  14. 14 Amina March 16, 2008 at 8:54 am

    that was lovely, especially for such cat lover as I…i didnt hear it before, thx

  15. 16 Paul April 15, 2008 at 5:47 am

    I can think of no better accessory to a sermon than a cat in one’s lap.

  16. 17 rationalpsychic June 11, 2008 at 7:36 am

    Thanks for your visit to my blog. Although I don’t pretend to know what’s happening with Islam’s connection with felines (you’re not joking, are you?), I think it’s interesting to note, however, that in Christian cultures, I think that the qualities seen as “doglike:” obedience, loyalty, being a guard, are more highly prized.

    Yet, a notable exception to this high valuation of the dog can be seen in C.S. Lewis’s choice of a lion to represent the authority of God in his Narnia books through the depiction of Aslan.

    In the poetry of Hafiz and Rumi, the great Sufi writers, I note that their view of Allah/The Friend, while including “authority,” also depicts God as taking part in a great deal of holy playfulness, jokes that are meant to enlighten us and remind us of our humility.

    Am I stepping off the deep end here? I hope my respect is obvious, even if my ignorance is showing itself to be greater.

  17. 18 zainab August 4, 2008 at 9:07 am

    simply amazin!!!

  18. 19 jennah Islaam August 7, 2008 at 1:26 am

    I am so happy to have found you , mashallah! I am a Muslim who loves cats and all oyther creatures as Allah has created!!! keep going!!!!


Leave a comment




Blog Stats

  • 85,074 hits
March 2008
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31