What the … Cyber Actresses

Yet another example of how technology can change our perception of reality. Meet JoA (I think they named her after BoA, a famous Korean singer) a digital actress. She even has an official biography according to which she was born on December 20, 1986, is 169cm tall and weighs 48kg. This makes me wonder if I can trust the digital media anymore. With the internet anyone can pretend to be anyone. Who knows who the person on the other side of the blog is. Here is my list of conspiracies:

May be Aafke is actually Chinese veterinarian living in the African Savannah? What if Lofter actually lives in Mexico city? Stinger is an Urdu Speaking Russian living in Taiwan? Shahrzaad is actually French? What if Baekho is a marine biologist studying whales near the coast of Chile? Darvish is James Bond.
joa-20080201-popseoul.jpg

joa_200802013_popseoul.jpg

joa_200802012_popseoul.jpg

16 Responses to “What the … Cyber Actresses”


  1. 1 Shahrzad February 15, 2008 at 6:04 pm

    LOL, i wonder why you chose French for me and not for example Madagascar? πŸ˜€
    I tried to learn French. But i didnt have time to finish.I like their accent.. πŸ˜›
    LOL@ Darvish is James Bond..

  2. 2 darvish February 15, 2008 at 8:02 pm

    Shhhh…. that was a secret!!!!

    “theme music plays in backround”

  3. 3 Lofter February 15, 2008 at 9:27 pm

    I knew it! Those Mexicans just can’t keep a secret for beans! Oh, and thanks for the tip on Darvish… that explains the stunt doubles that keep lurking around those posts. :-p

  4. 4 Baekho February 15, 2008 at 9:51 pm

    It’s true…you have no way of knowing…

    Although I have to say, I wouldn’t mind studying whales off the coast of Chile. πŸ˜‰

    Has Miss JoA been in any films? And if so, were her co-stars also digital?

  5. 5 Aafke February 15, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    Have you seen the movie Sim-one?

    I have posted a portrait of myself on my about page! You know exactely how I look!
    But I have thought that ”Amina Ae Sook” might actually be a group of spotty American Nerds. Locked away in a smelly dark cellar, full of computers and Trekkie-posters, and Asian Pop-singers-posters, in some small American campus, in some insignificant little town, in the desolate Mid-west!

  6. 6 Amina Ae Sook February 16, 2008 at 7:50 am

    Shahrzad, I just wrote the first thing that came to my mind. This is how you became French. This is a woman’s intuition so it can’t be wrong. I love their accent also. πŸ™‚

    Darvish, I wonder how a Darvish based James Bond would sound like. That would be my next post.

    Lofter, The Mexicans have given out your info. Your identity is known. Texas, Mexico, it makes sense right?

    Baekho, That would be totally cool indeed. Regarding JoA, I have not heard about any movies or even co-stars.

    Aafke, Yeah S1mone the Al Pachino movie. Yeah I have seen the Niqabi Aafke. πŸ™‚ Oh well you have discovered my identity but I insist that cellar is NOT dark and our campus is quite large.

  7. 7 Sumera February 16, 2008 at 10:02 am

    Does this cyber actress star in any movies or does she just sit about looking pretty? :p

  8. 8 bbZuSh February 16, 2008 at 10:58 am

    LOL! A beautiful actress indeed… I would agree with you when you say who is actually behind that blog… Everything can be deformed, lies.. everything… Hmmmm… That’s something for me to think about XD

  9. 9 Aafke February 16, 2008 at 4:32 pm

    I think she looks rather made out of plastic. And that’s rather wraps it up for us real gals doesn’t it? It is already impossible to live up to the photo-shopped, manipulated ”super-models” how can you deal with a really artificial standart?

    Amina: It’s rather -10 below zero-aafke. I do shed materials when it get’s warmer. But it’s easily the best photo you’ll ever see of me! πŸ™‚

    Surely you mean: ”Oh well you have discovered OUR identity”

  10. 10 Lofter February 16, 2008 at 7:13 pm

    I guess John Wayne was right after all… I really am a Texican!

  11. 11 Tia February 17, 2008 at 3:11 am

    Would that mean role models for most women will now be cyber actresses from some geek’s imagination? And do you think some crazy women will go through surgery just so they can look like cyber chicks?

  12. 12 Aafke February 17, 2008 at 12:50 pm

    Yo, Tia, there are women trying to look like Paris Hilton, the creepy-est woman on the planet! I’m not surprised at anything!
    There is a mental woman having had lots of surgery to look like Barbie! And one who’s having all sorts of implants to make her look like a cat.

  13. 13 stinger February 17, 2008 at 7:35 pm

    I’m a Russian who speaks Urdu and lives in Taiwan? Why wouldn’t I rather go live in Hong Kong or Shenzhen? And why wouldn’t I learn Spanish as a foreign language? Spanish is coolest of all languages! But then, why would I be a Russian? Why not Italian? πŸ˜› or Greek? πŸ˜› Okay, okay enough of my chauvinistic comments. Wait, how about me being a Mongol? The rebirth of the great Genghis Khan!!!

  14. 14 Khawab February 18, 2008 at 7:17 am

    huh n u totally forgot to mention abt me
    gr8 jst gr8…..

    lolsss seems like u r creative πŸ˜‰

    i know there is no way we can figure it out….one of ma frd was telling me dat some blogers actually fake stories….
    huh now we cant even trust how reliable those posts r

  15. 15 Amina Ae Sook February 20, 2008 at 5:56 am

    Sumera, I should have added you also. Well next time Insha’Allah. As far as I know she has not acked in any movies. Right now she is just another pretty face or shall I say a publicity stunt.

    bbZuSh, That’s scary isn’t it? Who knows may be bbZuSh is an aviator in New Zealand?

    Aafke, Pastic is the new black. lol. Its not a competition anymore but rather entrapment. One just has to keep on running and running after these mirages.

    I figured the part about the cold. Other than this blogsphere we also share another thing – cold weather. πŸ™‚

    Yes Aafke you have discovered OUR identity, all five of us. All of us were so busy that we could not reply to your comments on time. I now wish there were ten of us. πŸ˜›

    P.S: Will reply to you tag soon.

    Lofter, Yes I knew it!

    Tia, Now that is a very scary though – people going through surgery to look like computer generated models. Where does it stop? Does it ever stop?

  16. 16 Amina Ae Sook February 20, 2008 at 6:02 am

    Aafke, don’t even get me started on Paris Hilton. As of now this blog is ‘Paris Hilton’ free blog. Enough said.

    stinger, dream on buddy. Trying to throw us off regarding your true identity. Very clever but not clever enough my Russian friend. How is the weather in Taipei?

    khwab, You got my point indeed. After reading my own post and the comments I don’t know who to believe anymore!


Leave a comment




Blog Stats

  • 85,074 hits
February 2008
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829